Basic Units of Electricity

The three basic units of electricity are voltage, current and resistance. Voltage is measured in volts, current is measured in amps and resistance is measured in ohms.

There is a basic equation in electrical engineering that states how the three terms relate. It says that the current is equal to the voltage divided by the resistance or I = V/R. This is known as Ohm’s law. Ohms are named after Georg Ohm, a German physicist who made discoveries about current flow, voltage and resistance. Amps are named after André-Marie Ampère, a French physicist and mathematician who was one of the founders of the science of classical electromagnetism. Volts are named after Alessandro Volta, an Italian physicist who perfected a chemical process used in electrical batteries. Call Rogoz Electric at 623-363-5648 for all your Licensed electrical information and repair needs! AZROC#261441